Major League (1989)

Thoughts on Dec 17, 2007 after Cinematheque screening:

I just saw this movie again, and it is a lot of fun. You’ll get the most out of this movie if you have a real love of baseball. I used to love the game growing up in the 70’s and 80’s. It was an era when ballplayers had a lot of heart. It was before the crazy steroids debacles and the outrageous salaries.

This is a great underdog story with a great hook: the owner wants them to lose so she can move the Indians to Miami. That was a smart idea. There are so many funny moments in this ensemble piece – that I forgive certain things – like Dennis Haysbert clearly not being from Cuba. James Gammon is wonderful as the skipper – with all the weight and charm of old character actors of classic Hollywood. The only thing that I did not enjoy so much was the love subplot between Tom Berenger and Rene Russo – because it is pretty sappy. But even in that, there are cute moments, like when he drives the bullpen car over to her place. This is a winner, and ranks along with Bull Durham as a classic baseball movie.

PS – 1 April ’08: just realized that the filmmaker behind Major League, David S. Ward, won the Best Screenplay Oscar 15 years earlier for another comedy, The Sting.

About kartiksingh

I have been living in Paris, France since 1996. I was born to Sikh parents who immigrated to the USA. I grew up outside of Kansas City, and at 18 went to Washington DC with the intention of becoming a diplomat. Five years later, I arrived in Paris and found my life purpose: to make films that bring hope, insight, and inspiration to the world. My debut feature film Callback premieres in September 2010 in New York. For more details on where you can see my films, look for me at http://www.facebook.com/#!/kartik.singh
This entry was posted in Reaction to Films and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

